London Borough of Islington

Licensing Committee – 17 May 2012

Minutes of a meeting of the Licensing Committee held at the Town Hall, Upper Street, N1 2UD on 17 May 2012 at 10:00 am.

Present: Councillors: Raphael Andrews, Wally Burgess, Gary Doolan, Barry Edwards, Jean-Roger Kaseki, Phil Kelly and Marian Spall.

Councillor Wally Burgess in the Chair

- 50. <u>APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE</u> (Item A1) None.
- 51. <u>DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST</u> (Item A2) None.

52. MINUTES (Item A3)

RESOLVED:

That the minutes of the meetings of the Licensing Committee held on the 12 May 2011 and 13 June 2011 be confirmed as a correct record and the Chair be authorised to sign them.

53. <u>APPOINTMENT OF LICENSING SUB-COMMITTEES FOR 2012/13 AND DELEGATION</u> OF LICENSING FUNCTIONS (Item B1)

The Committee noted the report which detailed the proposed memberships for the Licensing Sub-Committees for 2012/2013 and the delegation of licensing functions.

The Committee noted that, following a recent amendment to the Licensing Act, there would need to be a change to the Terms of Reference regarding temporary event notices.

The Committee noted that, Councillor Barry Edwards would be appointed Chair and Councillor Gary Doolan would be appointed Vice-Chair of Licensing Sub-Committee B.

RESOLVED:

(a) That four Licensing Sub-Committees be established for 2012/13 with the terms of reference set out in Appendix 1 of the report, with the following amendment and that all functions falling within the terms of reference be delegated to them.

Point 8 of the Terms of Reference to read. To determine an objection to a temporary event notice.

(b) That the following members, Chairs and Vice-Chairs, be appointed for 2012/13 or until successors are appointed:

Licensing Sub-Committee A:

Members	Substitutes
Councillor Wally Burgess (Chair)	All other members of the Licensing
Councillor Phil Kelly (Vice-Chair)	Committee.
Councillor Jean-Roger Kaseki	

Licensing Sub-Committee B:

Members	Substitutes
Councillor Barry Edwards (Chair) Councillor Gary Doolan (Vice-Chair)	All other members of the Licensing Committee.
Councillor George Allan	

Licensing Sub-Committee C:

Members	Substitutes
Councillor Marian Spall (Chair)	All other members of the Licensing
Councillor Claudia Webbe (Vice-Chair)	Committee.
Councillor Raphael Andrews	

Licensing Sub-Committee D:

Members	Substitutes
Councillor Troy Gallagher (Chair)	All other members of the Licensing
Councillor Joe Caluori (Vice-Chair)	Committee.
Councillor David Wilson	

c) That the delegations to officers as set out in Appendix 1 be approved.

The meeting ended at 10:10 am.

CHAIR