Skip to content

Committee details

Licensing Committee

Purpose of committee

The licensing committee deals with matters under the Licensing Act 2003; licences for the sale of alcohol, public entertainment, cinemas, theatres, late night refreshment houses, and night cafés.

The main Licensing Committee is made up of 15 elected members and has 4 sub-committees (a, b, c and d), each consisting of 3 elected members from the main Licensing Committee.  These sub-committees make decisions on applications.

Licensing of matters not covered by the Licensing Act 2003, such as street trading licences, are dealt with by our Licensing Regulatory Committee.

You can find more information about licensing and view the council's licensing policy in the Business and Licensing section of the website.

If you have any questions please contact:

Jackie Tunstall
Islington Council
Room 107, Town Hall
Upper Street
N1 2UD
Telephone: 020 7527 3068



Contact information

Support officer: Jackie Tunstall. 020 7527 3068