You are here: Agenda and minutes

Agenda and minutes

Venue: Committee Room 4, Town Hall, Upper Street, N1 2UD

Contact: Jackie Tunstall  020 7527 3068

No. Item


Apologies for Absence


Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Chapman, Convery, Graham, Klute, Nathan, Shaikh and Woodbyrne.


Declarations of Interest

If you have a Disclosable Pecuniary Interest* in an item of business:

§  if it is not yet on the council’s register, you must declare both the existence and details of it at the start of the meeting or when it becomes apparent;

§  you may choose to declare a Disclosable Pecuniary Interest that is already in the register in the interests of openness and transparency. 

In both the above cases, you must leave the room without participating in discussion of the item.


If you have a personal interest in an item of business and you intend to speak or vote on the item you must declare both the existence and details of it at the start of the meeting or when it becomes apparent but you may participate in the discussion and vote on the item.


*(a)     Employment, etc - Any employment, office, trade, profession or vocation carried on for profit or gain.

(b) Sponsorship - Any payment or other financial benefit in respect of your expenses in carrying out duties as a member, or of your election; including from a trade union.

(c) Contracts - Any current contract for goods, services or works, between you or your partner (or a body in which one of you has a beneficial interest) and the council.

(d) Land - Any beneficial interest in land which is within the council’s area.

(e) Licences- Any licence to occupy land in the council’s area for a month or longer.

(f) Corporate tenancies - Any tenancy between the council and a body in which you or your partner have a beneficial interest.

 (g) Securities - Any beneficial interest in securities of a body which has a place of business or land in the council’s area, if the total nominal value of the securities exceeds £25,000 or one hundredth of the total issued share capital of that body or of any one class of its issued share capital. 


This applies to all members present at the meeting.



There were no declarations of interest.


Minutes of previous meeting pdf icon PDF 57 KB




That the minutes of the meeting held on 17 October 2017 be confirmed as an accurate record of proceedings and the Chair be authorised to sign them.


Appointment of Sub-Committees pdf icon PDF 86 KB

Additional documents:




a)    That four Licensing Sub-Committees be established for the municipal year 2018/2019 with the terms of reference set out in Appendix 1 of the report and that all functions falling within the terms of reference be delegated to them;


b)    That the following members, Chairs and Vice-Chairs, be appointed for the municipal year 2018/2019 or until successors are appointed.


Licensing Sub A




Gary Poole (Chair)

Michelline Safi-Ngongo (Vice-Chair)

Ben Mackmurdie

All other members of the Licensing Committee


Licensing Sub B




Flora Williamson (Chair)

Phil Graham (Vice-Chair)

Sheila Chapman

All other members of the Licensing Committee


Licensing Sub C




Rowena Champion (Chair)

Vivien Cutler (Vice-Chair)

Matt Nathan

All other members of the Licensing Committee


Licensing Sub D




Nick Wayne (Chair)

Marian Spall (Vice-Chair)

Kadeema Woodbyrne

All other members of the Licensing Committee



c)    That it be noted that the following are members of the Licensing Committee and are substitutes for all the Licensing Sub-Committees:-


Councillors Paul Convery, Asima Shaikh and Martin Klute.


d)    That the Terms of Reference for the Licensing Committee as set out in Appendix 2 be noted.