Skip to content

Agenda and draft minutes

Venue: Committee Room 4, Town Hall, Upper Street, N1 2UD

Contact: Jackie Tunstall  020 7527 3068

No. Item


Apologies for Absence


Apologies were received from Councillors Cinko-Oner, Graham, Ibrahim, Jeapes, Khondoker, Mackmurdie, Nathan and Spall.


Declarations of Interest

If you have a Disclosable Pecuniary Interest* in an item of business:

§  if it is not yet on the council’s register, you must declare both the existence and details of it at the start of the meeting or when it becomes apparent;

§  you may choose to declare a Disclosable Pecuniary Interest that is already in the register in the interests of openness and transparency. 

In both the above cases, you must leave the room without participating in discussion of the item.


If you have a personal interest in an item of business and you intend to speak or vote on the item you must declare both the existence and details of it at the start of the meeting or when it becomes apparent but you may participate in the discussion and vote on the item.


*(a) Employment, etc - Any employment, office, trade, profession or vocation carried on for profit or gain.

(b) Sponsorship - Any payment or other financial benefit in respect of your expenses in carrying out duties as a member, or of your election; including from a trade union.

(c) Contracts - Any current contract for goods, services or works, between you or your partner (or a body in which one of you has a beneficial interest) and the council.

(d) Land - Any beneficial interest in land which is within the council’s area.

(e) Licences- Any licence to occupy land in the council’s area for a month or longer.

(f) Corporate tenancies - Any tenancy between the council and a body in which you or your partner have a beneficial interest.

 (g) Securities - Any beneficial interest in securities of a body which has a place of business or land in the council’s area, if the total nominal value of the securities exceeds £25,000 or one hundredth of the total issued share capital of that body or of any one class of its issued share capital. 


This applies to all members present at the meeting.





Minutes of previous meeting pdf icon PDF 107 KB



That the minutes of the meeting held on the 12 March 2024 be confirmed as a correct record and the Chair be authorised to sign them.


Appointment of the Licensing Sub-Committees for 2024/2025 and Delegation of Licensing Functions pdf icon PDF 112 KB

Additional documents:




a)    Four Licensing Sub-Committees be established for the municipal year 2024/2025 with the terms of reference set out in Appendix 1 of the report and with the proposed changes noted and that all functions falling within the Terms of Reference be delegated to them;


b)    The following members, Chairs and Vice-Chairs be appointed for the municipal year 2024/2025 or until successors are appointed;


Licensing Sub-Committee A




Councillor Heather Staff (Chair)

Councillor Ben Mackmurdie (Vice-Chair)

Councillor Gary Heather

All other members of the Licensing Committee.


Licensing Sub-Committee B




Councillor Bashir Ibrahim (Chair)

Councillor Nick Wayne (Vice-Chair)

Councillor Ilkay Cinko-Oner

All other members of the Licensing Committee.


Licensing Sub-Committee C




Councillor Angelo Weekes (Chair)

Councillor Joseph Croft (Vice-Chair)

Councillor Asima Shaikh

All other members of the Licensing Committee.


Licensing Sub-Committee D




Councillor Phil Graham (Chair)

Councillor Clare Jeapes (Vice-Chair)

Councillor Marian Spall

All other members of the Licensing Committee.


c)     It be noted that the following are members of the Licensing Committee and are substitutes for all of the Licensing Sub-Committees:-


Councillor Roulin Khondoker

Councillor Matt Nathan

Councillor Praful Nargund


d)    That the Terms of Reference for the Licensing Committee as set out in Appendix 2 be noted.