Skip to content


The borough of Islington is divided into 17 areas called ‘wards’. Every 4 years, local people elect 51 councillors to represent them in their wards.

What do Councillors do?

Your councillor, as the person you elected to represent you, can:

  • help you if you are dissatisfied with a council service by advising or directing you to someone who can help resolve your problem and can sometimes progress the case on your behalf;
  • run advice surgeries where you can meet with your ward councillor and discuss issues with local services;
  • as a community leader, put forward proposals to improve the ward they represent which may include bringing together different community groups to develop a case for change; and
  • help make decisions about council services.

On this page you can find out which councillors represent your local ward. If you do not know which ward you live in, you can use the Your Local Area function on the council's website.

See information on Members' Allowances and the current allowances scheme.

See information on Ward Partnership meetings.

Find out how to complain about a councillor.